Day 4: Simbang Gabi

nona.eman
2 min readDec 21, 2023

--

Spirit woke me up, because I was definitely almost late today. You know that bad dream when you silence your alarm multiple times, and then you wake up and realize you slept pass the time you needed to be somewhere? THEN you wake up and realize it was all a bad dream and you’re on time anyway..

So today in mass I had a thought of listening and processing messages. Sometimes I wish they had captions for hearing people, too. It would amplify the experience, especially when you cant understand what the cantor, reading, singer, or priest is saying. Sometimes missing just one word can throw off the sentence. I’m just saying. Easier to zone out than to tune in. Maybe that’s why no reading, song, or scripture invigorated me today. I guess I’ve been spoiled with the luxury of turning on closed captioning whenever I watch TV.

I thought I missed posting for day 4, when this was actually in my drafts. Perfectionism goes out the door nowadays. Does it actually exist? I was questioning a lot, even my reasoning to engaging in waking up early AND having to go to work 2–3 hours later. Thank God/dess to have abilities to work from home. But it’s been a heavy week… Especially with it being finals week, a sister friend’s father in bad condition at the hospital, the uncertainty of the world holding its breath for a potential world war 3, and I’m trying to remain grounded, present, & not spin-out from the many things life yields at us on the daily.

Song/Mood of the day: John Legend - Slow Dance.

--

--